Indie Bookshops

Illustration by Steven Johnson – www.steillustrates.com

As a munchy book eating book monster I’m a huge advocate of libraries and independent book shops. When reading my reviews and feeling tempted by the books reviewed, do consider either signing up to your local library (many of which offer e-books now) to test run a read and/or buying a copy from an indie book shop. Run by book passionate individuals, these amazing shops are a hive of wonderful reads often containing special and signed editions of new releases so you can get something extra nice and they even host author events and book launches.

I have organised the shops by location, but please don’t let that put you off, most of the shops sell online too!

Online Only

Hive – Supporting independent book shops across the UK
https://www.hive.co.uk

Bearhunt Books -Online children’s bookshop supporting diversity
https://bearhuntbooks.co.uk

Lantana Publishing – Publisher specialising in diversity.
https://lantanapublishing.com

Caryl Hart – Sheffield author selling her fab books online (can be signed)
https://www.carylhart.com/about/shop

Bert’s Books – Specialising in book bundles
https://bertsbooks.co.uk

UK

Sheffield:
Rhyme and Reason – https://rhymeandreasonbooks.wordpress.com

Nottingham:
Five Leaves Bookshop – https://fiveleavesbookshop.co.uk

Manchester:
Chapter One Books – https://www.chapteronebooks.co.uk

York:
Little Apple Bookshops – https://www.littleapplebookshop.co.uk

Halifax:
The Book Corner – https://bookcornerhalifax.com

St Annes-on-Lea:
Storytellers inc – https://storytellersinc.co.uk

Corbridge:
Forum Books – https://www.forumbooksshop.com

Bath:
The Oldfield Park Bookshop – https://www.theoldfieldparkbookshop.co.uk
Mr B’s Emporium – https://mrbsemporium.com

Petworth, Sussex:
The Petworth Bookshop – https://www.facebook.com/ThePetworthBookshop/

Hove:
The Book Nook – https://booknookuk.com

Brentwood, Essex:
Chicken and Frog – https://chickenandfrog.com
Maldon, Essex:
Maldon Books – https://www.maldonbooks.com

Suffolk:
The Suffolk Anthology – https://theanthology.co.uk

Salisbury:
The Rocket Ship Bookshop – https://rocketshipbookshop.co.uk

Surrey:
Regency Bookshop – http://www.regencybookshop.com

Norwich:
The Book Hive – https://www.thebookhive.co.uk

Gloucestershire:
Yellow Lighted Bookshops – https://yellowlightedbookshop.co.uk
The Cotswold Book Room – http://cotswoldbookroom.co.uk

London:
Big Green Bookshop – http://www.biggreenbookshop.com
Round Table Books – https://www.roundtablebooks.co.uk

Henley-on-Thames:
The Bell Bookshop – https://www.bellbookshop.co.uk

Bristol:
Book Island Books – https://www.bookisland.co.uk

Lee-on-the-Solent:
Lee Bookshop – https://leebookshop.co.uk

Stockton-on-Tees:
MSE Books – https://www.msebooks.com

Castle Cary, Somerset:
Bailey Hill Bookshop – https://baileyhillbookshop.com

Tiverton, Devon:
Liznojan Books – https://www.liznojanbooks.co.uk

Wimborne Minster, Dorset:
Gullivers Books – https://www.booksandvinyl.co.uk/gullivers/

Scotland
Edinburgh:
Golden Hare Books – https://goldenharebooks.com

Aberdeenshire:
Orb’s Community Bookshop – https://www.orbsbookshop.co.uk

Linlithgo:
Far from the Madding Crowd – https://www.maddingcrowdlinlithgow.com

Wales
Powys:
Book-ish – https://www.book-ish.co.uk

International

USA
Oregon:
River Dog Book Co. – https://riverdogbookco.com

Kansas:
Raven Bookstore – https://www.ravenbookstore.com

Massachusetts:
Porter Square Books – https://www.portersquarebooks.com
Harvard Book store – https://www.harvard.com
Brookline Booksmith – https://www.brooklinebooksmith.com

Virginia:
Old Town Books – https://www.oldtownbooks.com

California:
Mrs Dalloways Bookstore – https://www.mrsdalloways.com

Ohio:
The Book Loft – https://www.bookloft.com


All of these bookshops have been gathered through kind personal recommendations. If I’ve missed your favourite off the list please get in touch via my form and I’ll ensure it gets added!